Punjab Legislative Assembly


Scope and Functions of Local Bodies and Panchayati Raj Institutions Committee :
Constitution of the Committee:
(1) There shall be a Committee on Local Bodies and Panchayati Raj Institutions consisting of not more than thirteen Members, for the examination of the working of the Local bodies which shall mean and include Notified Area Committees, Municipal Committees, Improvement Trusts and Municipal Corporations and Panchayati Raj Institutions which shall mean and include Panchayat Samities and Zila Parishads.
2) The Committee shall be nominated by the Speaker and the term of office of the Members of the Committee shall be one year.

Functions of the Committee:
a) to examine the audit reports and accounts of the Local Bodies and Panchayati Raj Institutions as may be selected by the Committee;
b) to examine the reports, if any, of the Examiner, Local Fund Accounts, laid on the table of the House;
c) to examine in the context of autonomy, whether affairs of the Local Bodies or the Panchayati Raj Institutions are being managed in accordance with the provisions of law;
d) to examine any other aspect of the working of any Local Body or the Panchayati Raj Institution as may be referred to it by the Speaker.

Provided that the Committee shall not examine and investigate any of the following namely:-
i) matters of major government policy as distinct from the working of the Local Bodies and the Panchayati Raj Institutions;
ii) matters relating to day-to-day administration of Local Bodies & Panchayati Raj Institutions;
iii) matters for the consideration of which machinery is established by any special statute under which the Local Bodies and Panchayati Raj Institutions are established.

List of Members

Sr. No. Name Of Member Designation
1. Sardar Balbir Singh Sidhu Chairman
2. Shri. Aman Arora Member
3. Sardar Angad Singh Member
4. Shri Bharat Bhushan Ashu Member
5. Shri Budh Ram Member
6. Sardar Dilraj Singh Bhunder Member
7. Shri Dinesh Singh Member
8. Sardar Gurpreet Singh Kangar Member
9. Sardar Harjot Kamal Singh Member
10. Thekedar Madan Lal Jalalpur Member
11. Shri N.K.Sharma Member
12. Shri Rajinder Beri Member
13. Shri Sanjeev Talwarh Member